Renaissance replica from Szár (Paulus Organ Factory, Hungary)
Szár (Saar) is a village in Hungary, in Transdanubia, in Fejér county. It has a population of 1,600, 30% of which are of German nationality. 

Szár was already inhabited in ancient times. It was inhabited by Reformed Hungarians in the early Middle Ages. The Turks completely destroyed the village. After the Turkish conquest, German serfs were settled, especially from the Rhine-Main region. After the Second World War, a significant part of the German population was displaced and Hungarians were relocated

The Baroque-style parish church of St. John the Baptist was built between 1752 and 1757, based on the plans of Fellner Jakab.  The church was renovated in 2011.


The old organ of the church was completely destroyed in World War II. After that, the church did not have an organ for more than 60 years. The construction of the new organ was made possible by a donation from Frank Hasenfratz, who was born in Szár but he lives in Canada. The population of the village and the municipality also contributed to the construction of the organ.The organ was designed by Homolya Dávid and contributed by dr. Kormos Gyula. This organ is a copy of the Baroque organ of the Lutheran Church in Lőcse (Levoča), made in the 17th century. The original organ is a good example of the baroque organ architecture of historical Hungary. The organ shows notes of North German and Polish Renaissance organs. Unfortunately, the original organ, which unique in its kind, has not been in operation for 70 years and there is no hope of its reconstruction. But now it was reborn in the organ of Szár. The organ was built by Paulus Organ Factory in 2018.


The following friends helped me to make and publish the sample set (in alphabetical order): Dominique Dantand, Adrian De Groot, Gérard Lefranc, István Nagy and Jean-Pierre Silvestre. If something's done well, it's thanks to them. Thank you for their work.

Sample quality 
The sample sets are available in wave format 48kHz/24bit, stereo, multiple loops (1-12) and multiple releases (3 levels). Equal, a=466 Hz and accompanied by its own temperament. 
The sample sets are made in several forms. 
a. Original version (stereo far and stereo near and 6 channels surround from). 
b. Extended split manual (stereo far and stereo near and 6 channels surround from). 
c. Extended two manuals (stereo far and stereo near and 6 channels surround from). 
The sample set reverb is 2.5 s reflecting the original acoustics of the church. Hauptwerk 5 users have access to the IR reverb file of the Szár temple. 
Hauptwerk v4.2 and Hauptwerk v5 supported for the Organ Definition Files. 
Keyboards, Pedal 
The original and the virtual organ compass of the manual is 51 keys , the compass of the pedal is 27 keys.                                               

RAM requirements (GB)




16 bit

24 bit

16 bit

24 bit






Slit manual





Two Manuals





The values given are for reference only and depend on the operating system of the computer and the utilities used. 
Operating Instructions:
How do you configure the four-channel surround mode?


Original specification

Virtual extension (Split and two manuals)


Pedal (27 keys)

Pedal (27 keys)

Sliders of Near (semidry) - Far (wet) - Rear - Noise

Sub=Baβ 16’

+ Principal 8’, Rohr=Flött 8’, Octava 4’

The volumen controls are only in the surround

Posaunen= Baß 8’



Great (51 keys)

Great (51 keys)


Principal 8’


Couplers: Original and Split versions: I/Ped

Rohr=Flött 8’

Split version:

Two manuals versions: I/Ped, II/Ped

Salicinal 8’

All registers are split, split at 06-c.


Vox Humana 8’ (used with Principal 8’)


Tremulant: Original: none

Octava 4’

Two manuals version:

Split: Discant,

Quintadena 4’

All registers can also be found

Two manuals: second manual

Superoctava 2’

on the second manual.


Quinta 1 1/3’


Enclosure: Only Two manuals II

Mixtura IIIx1’



Sedecima 1’



Polish Cymbel I



Audio demos

Playing Dominique Dantand, Nagy István and Jean-Pierre Silvestre
Download / Order

Try the the demo sample sets before you buy! 
The Trial Versions of the Renaissance replica from Szár has a limited compass of C2-C3 (048-c to 060-c) in the pedal, C2-G5 (048-c to 079-g) in the manuals. All other functions work. 
Demo Installation instructions: 
Install pack01 first. You can then use the stereo 'far'. Then install the 02 pack. After that, you can use the stereo 'near'. Finally, install pack 03. You can then use the surround version. The order of installation is very important and the steps are not interchangeable.

Surround vs Stereo mode 
If you do not have a surround sound system, but there is enough memory (RAM), I suggest you also install the surround version. If you activate the front and rear stops too, then you will get a more compact and fuller sound than the simple stereo. 

Buy the full sample set! 
Renaissance replica from Szár (It contains the original and extended stereo near and stereo far versions, and six-channels surround versions.) You can pay in euros or dollars.

            € 39                  

or  $ 46   

I suggest you try the demo version before you buy.